College of Sciences Faculty and Staff Honored at Spring Sciences Celebration

May 8, 2024

Download photos from this year’s Sciences Celebration on the College of Sciences’ Flickr

Members of the College of Sciences community gathered at Harrison Square on May 8 to recognize outstanding faculty and staff as part of the 2023-2024 academic year Spring Sciences Celebration. 

“It is always a pleasure to honor faculty who excel in teaching and research,” says Susan Lozier, dean of the College of Sciences, Betsy Middleton and John Clark Sutherland Chair, and professor in the School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, “and to celebrate staff members across our College who are exceptionally committed to service and excellence.”

During the annual event, Lozier also recognized faculty and staff members who recently retired. 

This year’s honorees include:


The Cullen-Peck Fellowship Awards were established by Frank Cullen (‘73 Math, MS ‘76 ISyE, PhD ‘84 ISyE) and Elizabeth Peck (‘75 Math, MS ‘76 ISyE) to encourage the development of especially promising mid-career faculty:

  • Wenjing Liao, Mathematics 
  • Jenny McGuire, Biological Sciences
  • Elisabetta Matsumoto, Physics

The Gretzinger Moving Forward Award, endowed by Ralph Gretzinger (‘70 Math) and named to honor his late wife Jewel, recognizes the leadership of a school chair or senior faculty member who has played a pivotal role in diversifying the composition of tenure-track faculty, creating a family-friendly work environment, and providing a supportive environment for early-career faculty:

  • Michael Lacey, Mathematics

The Eric R. Immel Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching, endowed by Charles Crawford (‘71 Math), honors exemplary instruction of lower division foundational courses. It honors the late School of Mathematics professor Eric R. Immel, who greatly influenced Crawford’s undergraduate experience at the Institute:

  • Samantha Wilson, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences   

The Leddy Family Dean’s Faculty Excellence Award, established by Jeff Leddy (’78 Physics) and Pam Leddy, supports a faculty member at the associate professor level with proven accomplishments in research and teaching:

  • Simon Sponberg, Physics

The Faculty Mentor Award, established jointly by the College of Sciences and its ADVANCE Professor, awards the efforts and achievements of our faculty members who mentor fellow faculty:

  • Shana Kerr, Biological Sciences


The Outstanding Junior Research Faculty Award and Outstanding Senior Research Faculty Award honor postdoctoral and non-tenure track research faculty who have made exceptional research contributions with significant impact on their field of study:

  • Outstanding Junior Research Faculty: Yinghao Wen, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

  • Outstanding Senior Research Faculty: Anna Österholm, Chemistry and Biochemistry

The Research Faculty Community Trailblazer Award recognizes postdoctoral and non-tenure track research faculty who have demonstrated and sustained leadership that strengthens the sense of community among research faculty within the College of Sciences:

  • Jessica Bowman, Chemistry and Biochemistry  


The College of Sciences Staff Awards are made possible by funding from the Betsy Middleton and John Clark Sutherland Dean’s Chair endowment. They include:

The Exceptional Staff Member Award and Staff Excellence Awards honor College of Sciences staff who exemplify outstanding performance above and beyond the call of duty — positively impacting the strategic goals of their department and the College, consistently providing excellent service within their school or the overall College, and demonstrating exemplary teamwork.  

Exceptional Staff Member Award

  • Verene Lancaster, Biological Sciences

Staff Excellence Awards

  • Lea Marzo, Center for Promoting Inclusion and Equity in the Sciences
  • Faith Taylor, Dean’s Office

The Leadership in Action Staff Award and Excellence in Leadership Staff Awards recognize College of Sciences staff who have made exceptional contributions to the College through innovative and strategic leadership, change management, business process improvement, special project leadership, and similar accomplishments.

Leadership in Action Staff Award

  • Erin Nagle, Dean’s Office

Excellence in Leadership Staff Awards

  • Monica Branch, Chemistry and Biochemistry

  • Troy Hilley, Academic and Research Computing Services

For More Information Contact

Writer: Lindsay C. Vidal
Assistant Director of Communications
College of Sciences