Adam Marcus (ACO PhD 2008) and Collaborators Winning Accolades for Breakthrough Work

January 31, 2021

A recent ACO alum Adam Marcus (PhD 2008) and collaborators won one more accolade for their breakthrough work:

Adam W. Marcus, Daniel Alan Spielman, and Nikhil Srivastava (2021):

For their breakthrough works on the Kadison-Singer problem and on Ramanujan graphs, and the underlying theory that leads to new connections between computer science, mathematics and physics.


About the Michael and Sheila Held Prize

The Michael and Sheila Held Prize is presented annually and carries with it a $100,000 prize. The prize honors outstanding, innovative, creative, and influential research in the areas of combinatorial and discrete optimization, or related parts of computer science, such as the design and analysis of algorithms and complexity theory. This $100,000 prize is intended to recognize recent work (defined as published within the last eight years). The prize was established in 2017 by the bequest of Michael and Sheila Held.

More information (including previous winners) is here:

For More Information Contact

Sal Barone